birthday puppets

I bought Dave theatre tickets for his birthday and decided that, rather than giving him just the envelope to open, I’d make him a pair of ‘me’ and ‘him’ puppets who would present the tickets to him.

IMG_0249Early on, the heads were hidden in a shoe box between the times I was able to work on them.

IMG_6958I made a blue cotton sleeve for each of them, gave ‘me’ glasses and darker hair, which seemed to work a lot better, and both of them got some hands.

IMG_6957I made little back-fastening gowns for both of them with our dates of birth sewn into the hems. Dave’s has an image of lichen printed on to linen and stitched to the garment, mine has an ammonite. The back is tied with bias-binding.

IMG_0259This is how Dave received his theatre tickets on his birthday.

IMG_9824Yesterday, in front of the woodpile.

 

6 thoughts on “birthday puppets

    • Thanks, Shelley. He did appreciate them a lot. The tickets are for Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies – one after the other on the same day – which I’m a bit worried will be a little too intense!

  1. Hi Philippa, What a great idea for a birthday. Terrific expressions on the faces. Cheers, Chris Meechan

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

